Cake Fairy Tales

Life's better with cake and a sprinkle of fairy dust

Thor Hammer Cake

The man asks for a Thor birthday cake, but shows up at the party dressed as….

CAPTAIN AMERICA.

Complete with mask and all. But I think he left his shield at home.

Men. *rolling my eyes*

wpid-CYMERA_20140113_022334.jpg

The words on the hammer came from a printed edible icing image which I’d trimmed to fit the cake. I got a bit crazy with a black food writer and free-hand doodles on the sides. Dusted the whole cake with pearl shimmer for the metallic effect and was feeling quite pleased to see the kitchen light bounce off the cake when the husband observed matter-of-factly that Thor’s hammer wasn’t actually made of metal.

Okay.

Men, urgh. *rolls eyes again*

wpid-CYMERA_20140113_022434.jpgwpid-CYMERA_20140113_022528.jpg

The part of the cake that got me the most excited was the handle. Instead of dyeing white fondant a deep brown, I covered the cake with thin strips of light grey fondant in a herringbone pattern, then painted the strips with brown food colour diluted with a dab of water. This gave a realistic, leathery effect to the strips of fondant and saved a ton of food colour. To accentuate the herringbone pattern, I used some edible gold dust on the edges.

 wpid-CYMERA_20140113_021733.jpg

I seldom see the insides of my bakes, so a picture was in order. The sponge was mocha-flavoured, sandwiched with milk chocolate ganache and hazelnut praline buttercream.

wpid-CAM01039.jpg

Remember those zoo animal macarons? Besides an uber-cool cake, each kiddo in the class also received a bag filled with macarons and a stuffed toy.

wpid-CYMERA_20140113_222643.jpgwpid-CYMERA_20140110_233045.jpg

To be quite frank, I thought the cake was more than a tad cooler than the costume. If anything, it earned enraptured stares and a minute of awed silence from a class of preschoolers. But the Capt. America costume got only a raucous fit of giggles. Especially the masked bit.

wpid-CYMERA_20140113_022055.jpg

Since I was having so much fun with edible icing images, why stop here right? I also baked a One Direction Cake this week. Yes, I can’t believe I said that. One Direction. What can I say, I’m more of a Boyzone kind of gal. (Yikes, I can hear the young ones asking, Mummy, what’s Boyzone?)

wpid-CYMERA_20140112_150656.jpg

By the time I was done with the cake, the faces of these very young, very preppy lads (or lasses?) had been imprinted on my mind. In edible ink, no less.

4 comments on “Thor Hammer Cake

  1. Ada ~ More Food, Please
    January 14, 2014

    What a nice looking and delicious cake! The hazelnut praline buttercream sounds incredible.

    • danayong
      January 14, 2014

      Thank you! It was yummy, but then again, I’m a lover of nutella. 🙂

  2. LFFL
    February 6, 2014

    How cute is that.

    • danayong
      February 7, 2014

      Thanks for all the likes, Cita!

Leave a Reply

Copyright Disclaimer

© Dana Yong and Out Of The Cake Box, [2014]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material (including photographs) without express and written permission from this blog's author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Out Of The Cake Box with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Blog Stats

  • 27,887 hits
