Cake Fairy Tales

Life's better with cake and a sprinkle of fairy dust

I Grow Old but Never Grow Up

Too many people grow up. That’s the real trouble with the world, too many people grow up. They forget. They don’t remember what it’s like to be 12 years old. They patronize, they treat children as inferiors. Well I won’t do that. – Walt Disney

I had my 3-ahem-th birthday last week. For weeks, the husband had been bugging me to reveal my birthday gift wishlist, but I told him I already had everything I needed, much to his frustration.

When I left our bed early on my birthday morning to feed the cats and turn on the oven, I could hear him grumbling loudly about all the ruckus I was making. I quietly tiptoed back under the sheets and plopped my head back on my pillow, only to knock it on a hard and heavy object (ouch). While I’d been pottering around the kitchen, the man had been up and about hiding my birthday presents on our bed, and then pretended to carp about me getting up! Ha!

I’m thankful to have married a man who grows old, but never grows up, so life never ceases to be full of goofy surprises like these (mild concussions and the occasional heart attack not included).

perfecting patisserie tim kinnaird

This book (the one that nearly gave me a concussion) is my favourite birthday present of the lot. I’m raring to bake something from this book and give my two cents’ worth in another post.

It’s funny how on my own birthday, I got requests for more birthday cakes than I could handle. 3 November must be a really popular date to be born! Here are three cakes I managed to bake this weekend. Coincidentally, they all have something to do with Disney.

SONY DSC

The husband was totally clueless when I told him I was making a Stitch cake (a WHAT cake???). We were born in entirely different decades. He was born during the black and white TV era, while I grew up with Cartoon Network.

SONY DSC

Made two Mickey-inspired cakes this weekend for two little adoring fans of the character. One little boy’s mummy was so good with her hands, she created two gorgeous Mickey-themed cupcake towers and set the cake on the top of one.

mickey tower

The second cake was a three-tier affair that gave me a bit of a scare. On the night before the party, my courier guy delivered the cake looking like this to the venue.

SONY DSC

Sadly It didn’t quite make it into the hands of the recipient that night. I am still baffled as to what exactly happened. We’ve delivered tall tiered cakes in the past without a hitch. Maybe it was the torrential rain, a glitch in the structure, a bump in the road, too wet outside, too hot in the vehicle… I will never know. By the time the cake arrived back at my place, the back of the top and middle tiers were in seriously bad shape and the night was no longer young. Thankfully, the Mickey head topper and shoes which were made of cereal survived the accident with nary a scratch.

mickey smashed

I started reworking those two tiers at nearly midnight, which included baking, icing and covering from scratch. Removing the two tiers also meant stripping the bottom tier of its fondant layer and covering it again. By 3am, I went to bed pretty much zombified. The next day, I personally delivered the cake in time for the party. The lady host was incredibly gracious about the delay. Frankly, we both agreed that the reworked cake looked much better than the first one. Every thing happens for a reason.

mickey final edit

The highlight of my birthday? Seeing this little man’s eyes light up at the sight of his Mickey cake. He loved it. I asked him what he thought of his cake and he nodded his head furiously. The look of pure joy on this sweet face made all the hard work worth it. All the affirmation in the world couldn’t beat the approval of this little guy. Come on, he takes his Mickey very seriously okay? Check out his Mickey shoes.

CYMERA_20131104_155322

See, this is why I bake.

4 comments on “I Grow Old but Never Grow Up

  1. foziasaeed
    November 6, 2013

    Hope you had a lovely birthday 🙂 3rd November is my sisters birthday with my own 30 something birthday on the 17th 🙂

    • danayong
      November 6, 2013

      Thank you! And a happy 30-ahem-th birthday in advance to you too! 🙂

  2. Janine
    November 6, 2013

    Hope you had a wonderful birthday! (What a great gift, that was so sweet of your husband!)

    • danayong
      November 7, 2013

      Thank you, Janine! (He’s looking over my shoulder smugly now.)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 5, 2013 by in Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Copyright Disclaimer

© Dana Yong and Out Of The Cake Box, [2014]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material (including photographs) without express and written permission from this blog's author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Out Of The Cake Box with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Blog Stats

  • 28,740 hits
