Cake Fairy Tales

Life's better with cake and a sprinkle of fairy dust

My Secret Tableware Addiction

SONY DSC

I have a secret to confess. You know how some people lust after beautiful clothes, bags, shoes or fancy cars? I lust after tableware.

I have a secret tableware addiction. I see, I crave, I buy (often on impulse) and then I stash the incriminating evidence at the back of our tableware cabinet. If the husband asks (where did that new casserole come from, love?) I casually mention, oh, THAT. That’s from eons ago/my mother’s house/free gift with purchase.

I wonder if there’s anyone else like me out there?

After having breakfast at the wet market with the husband and then packing him off to the MRT station, I walked around the market and found this amazing pair of fine china jugs for just under $3.50 each at a makeshift stall. The same jugs on Amazon cost £8.00 each, excluding international shipping. The folk design on them are exquisite and so cute! They are also the perfect size for pouring cream and/or sauces to serve with pudding,

The other day, the husband jokingly mentioned that we should clear out our messy tableware cabinet as it was “bursting at the seams”.  A chill literally ran down my spine as I glared at him. The man knows how to get my goat every time.

2 comments on “My Secret Tableware Addiction

  1. andmorefood
    October 25, 2013

    me, me, me! chatuchak had SO much tableware. I could find a use for everything – and then bought nothing because the partner has taken it upon himself to rehab me from this addiction.

    men. they just don’t get it.

    • danayong
      October 25, 2013

      BKK, my second home! I can get hubby quite riled up about Jatuchak, surprisingly. I think it’s because he knows the things there can’t really bankrupt him. 🙂 But of course, he makes sure we don’t opt for extra check-in baggage on the flight home.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 24, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .

Copyright Disclaimer

© Dana Yong and Out Of The Cake Box, [2014]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material (including photographs) without express and written permission from this blog's author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Out Of The Cake Box with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Blog Stats

  • 28,255 hits
