Cake Fairy Tales

Life's better with cake and a sprinkle of fairy dust

Strawberry macarons

image

These strawberry macarons were made in class with the Italian meringue method. See those shiny smooth tops? The batter was very stable and we folded fearlessly on. While it rose in the oven, everyone kept exclaiming “what lovely feet!”. To put it in the words of one of my classmates, 脚漂亮到可以穿袜子…

480003_10151825826734008_727709327_n

On the contrary, we were required to make these strawberry macarons during the practical exam using only French meringue. I gingerly weighed out the ingredients with trepidation. With each fold, my heart grew heavier. I could literally see the moisture in the batter seeping out with each turn of the spatula. The batter looked ready to collapse on me any moment. I stopped at a few folds shy of perfect macaronage, the “kiasu” in me figured that the batter would continue deflating on its own even after I stopped stirring it. As I popped these in the oven, I muttered a prayer under my breath.

My fears were unfounded. These turned out alright, with high feet. Their tops are smooth albeit quite dull, not as shiny as the Italian meringue ones.

I heaved a huge sigh of relief. On to the next adventure!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 27, 2013 by in Macarons and tagged , , .

Copyright Disclaimer

© Dana Yong and Out Of The Cake Box, [2014]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material (including photographs) without express and written permission from this blog's author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Out Of The Cake Box with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Blog Stats

  • 27,874 hits
